For almost 40 years the Museum has chronicled the heritage of South Texas and Northeastern Mexico, preserving its rich history. The Museum has been a part of the community since 1967. It first opened its doors as the Hidalgo County Historical Museum in the old Hidalgo County jail. Built in 1910, the Old Jail continues to be one the most important sections of the museum
In 2003 the Museum completed a $5.5 million expansion, including a 22,500 square foot wing that includes the Museum Store, Grand Lobby, and permanent exhibits. At the time of this expansion, the Museum changed to its present name to reflect its mission to represent the history of the entire region.